Name of current page

DMA logo

Habitat Place Royale

Habitat Place Royale

Habitat Place Royale

Client:

Cost:

Final completion:

Habitat Place Royale

1 100 000 $

1983

Located at 157 St. Paul West, the Habitat Place Royale real development project had all the elements for becoming one of the most successful developments in Old Montreal. The oak timber frame structure at the west end dates the original construction to around 1850. In 1872, the Frothingham and Workman Building was added to the east of the first building, an L shaped addition with an interior courtyard that connects it to the Gardens of the Sulpicians Seminary.
The project incudes 40 residential units of 100-150 square metres in area, as well as more than 1000 square metres of office space. Unique to this historic sector is that almost 60% of the residential units face a 1000 square metre interior garden.
On the interior, the walls, floors and ceilings were restored exposing the wood and metal structure, as well as the masonry walls and arches, which were incorporated at the time to strengthen the dividing walls. A concrete topping was poured over rigid insulation on all the floor surfaces providing soundproofing between apartments levels and levelling of the floors.

Name of current page

DMA logo

Habitat Place Royale

Habitat Place Royale

Habitat Place Royale

Client :

Coût :

Fin des travaux :

Habitat Place Royale

1 100 000 $

1983

Situé au 157 de la rue St-Paul Ouest, le projet immobilier Habitat Place Royale réunit tous les attributs pour devenir un des développements immobiliers les plus recherchés dans le Vieux-Montréal. La charpente en bois de chêne de la partie ouest situe sa construction vers 1850. En 1872, le Frothingham & Workman Bldg prolonge ce premier bâtiment vers l’est avec une addition en forme de «L» et une cour intérieure qui rejoint les jardins des Sulpiciens.
Le projet compte plus de 40 unités de logements dont les surfaces varient entre 100 et 150 mètres carrés ainsi que plus de 1,000 mètres carrés d’espace à bureaux. Fait unique dans le secteur historique, près de 60% des unités résidentielles sont groupées autour d’un jardin intérieur de plus de 1,000 mètres carrés.
À l’intérieur, les murs, les plafonds et les planchers furent restaurés pour exposer les charpentes de bois et de métal de même que la maçonnerie avec ses arcs plein cintre, utilisés à l’époque pour augmenter la résistance structurale des murs mitoyens. Une chape de béton fut coulée sur un isolant rigide à pleine surface des planchers avec le double avantage d’insonoriser les appartements et de niveler les planchers.