6750 Esplanade

Client : Spear Street Capital Year : 2021 Area : 800 square meters

Lobby transformation

The concept of this transformation is based on the notion of a canvas. The canvas of the painter or the loom, a reference to the textile industry omnipresent in the MileEx district where this building was built in 1966.

In a process of acquisition by a new owner we carried out various studies and investigations identified certain nonconformities (means of egress and number of exits) and structural issues in the location of an old loading dock that had been transformed into the main entrance.

In order to benefit from the work that had to be undertaken, several configurations were explored to optimize the lobby and provide a new central entrance and create a stimulating common areas, adding the integration of works of art: gigantic murals.
The murals, created in collaboration with Lndmrk and the artist whatisadam, author of the exterior mural, animate the entrances and interior areas by illustrating, through large, brightly colored elements, faces, scenes or references to Montreal life with the needle and weaving as a common thread.

The result of this redevelopment: a symbiosis between the architectural gesture (renewal of the spaces) and the artistic gesture, through the integration of Street Art.
In concrete terms, the optimization of the area resulted in three interventions. The reduction of the space occupied by the loading dock offering the building a more significant and attractive entrance; the modification of the first-floor envelope for greater transparency to enhance the feeling of openness and provide greater visibility of the artwork; finally, the café becomes the central pole of activity and is enlarged by the addition of an angled wall opening onto a terrace.
The industrial aesthetic remains strong with exposed polished concrete surfaces and its raw concrete structure. The weaving effect is continued in the common areas by the black metal ceiling strips, whose superimposed lighting fixtures create a canvas effect linking the different artwork.
Start the slideshow

6750 Esplanade

Client : Spear Street Capital Année : 2021 Superficie : 800 mètres carrés

Aménagement & rénovation

Le concept de ce réaménagement s’appuie sur la notion de canevas. Celui de la toile du peintre ou du métier à tisser, référence à l’industrie textile omniprésente dans le quartier MileEx où cet édifice fut construit en 1966.

Dans une démarche d’acquisition par un nouveau propriétaire nous avons effectué diverses études et investigations nous permettant de découvrir certaines non-conformités (moyen d’évacuation et nombre d’issues) combiné à des travaux structurels à entreprendre.

Plusieurs configurations ont été explorées dans un objectif d’optimisation des espaces, des circulations et afin de proposer aux usagers un rez-de-chaussée avec des aires communes stimulantes, en ajoutant l’intégration d’œuvres d’art : des murales gigantesques.
Les murales, réalisées en collaboration avec Lndmrk et l’artiste whatisadam animent les entrées et les aires intérieures en illustrant au moyen de grands éléments aux couleurs vives; des visages, des scènes ou des références à la vie montréalaise avec l’aiguille et le tissage comme fil conducteur.

Le résultat de ce réaménagement : une symbiose entre le geste architectural (renouvellement des espaces) et le geste artistique, par l’intégration d’œuvres de Street Art
Concrètement l’optimisation de la superficie s’est traduite par trois interventions. La réduction de l’espace occupé par le quai de chargement offrant à l’édifice une entrée plus majestueuse et attrayante; la modification de l’enveloppe du rez-de-chaussée, par la transformation du mur rideau initialement opaque en une surface vitrée, donnant une sensation d’ouverture et d’espace avec une visibilité intérieure/extérieure; enfin, l’espace café devient l'élément central et s’agrandit par l’ajout d’un mur en angle.
L’esthétique industrielle reste bien présente par des surfaces de béton poli apparentes, ou d’autres sections de béton brut. L’effet de tissage se décline dans les espaces communs par les plafonds à baguettes métalliques noires dont la superposition des luminaires crée un effet de canevas reliant les œuvres d’art.
Lancer le diaporama