Macdonald Engineering Building

Client : Université McGill Year : 2019 Budget : 5.5 M$ Location : Montréal, QC

Roofing, dormer windows and masonry restoration

McGill University's Macdonald pavilion was built in 1907 on the foundations of an original building dating from 1893 and destroyed by a major fire. Designed by architect Percy Erskine Nobbs, it is constructed of Montreal limestone.

It faces the central parterre of the historic campus of the University and is one of its most prominent features. With the Workman Wing to the north and the Electrical Wing added in 1926 to the east, it forms a self-contained complex that has been home to McGill University's Faculty of Engineering since its inception.
Apart from numerous interior refurbishments and the addition of a fifth floor on the North Workman Wing in 1947, the building never underwent any repairs to its envelope.
Our interventions consisted in restoring the roof and dormer by replacing the slate and copper cladding. We also restored and consolidated the masonry cladding including the repair of some carved stone elements, covering the masonry spandrels with tinned copper flashings and replacing the windows.
Start the slideshow

Pavillon Macdonald de génie

Client : Université McGill Année : 2019 Budget : 5.5 M$ Localisation : Montréal, QC

Réfection toitures, lucarnes et restauration de la maçonnerie

Le pavillon Macdonald de l’Université McGill a été construit en 1907 sur les fondations d’un bâtiment d’origine, datant de 1893 et complètement détruit par un incendie majeur. Conçu par l’architecte Percy Erskine Nobbs, il est en pierre calcaire de Montréal.

Il est orienté face au parterre central du campus historique de l’Université et en constitue une des figures de proue. Avec l’aile Workman au Nord et l’aile Electrical ajoutée en 1926 à l’Est, il forme un complexe autonome qui abrite depuis ses débuts, la Faculté de génie de l’Université McGill.
Outre de nombreux travaux de réaménagements intérieurs et l’ajout en 1947 d’un cinquième étage sur l’Aile Workman au Nord, le bâtiment n’a jamais connu de travaux de réparation de son enveloppe.
Nos interventions consistaient à restaurer l’ensemble des toitures et lucarne en remplaçant les revêtements d’ardoise et de cuivre. Nous avons également restauré et consolidé les revêtements de maçonnerie dont la réparation de certains éléments en pierre sculptée, le recouvrement des allèges en maçonnerie par des solins en cuivre étamé et le remplacement des fenêtres.
Lancer le diaporama