Lab-École - Gatineau

Client : Commission scolaire Western Québec (CSWQ) Budget : 12 M$ Area : 7 500 square meters Location : Gatineau

Expansion of the Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau Elementary school

Awards and Honours

2020 - Winning project of the lab-école competition

The new Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau Elementary School concept is based on the creation of a continuous educational loop connected to nature with holistic and community spaces at its heart.

Articulated around a new courtyard, the architectural gesture creates a link between spaces dedicated to classes, physical activity and collective places through a generous path that is punctuated with multifunctional gathering and learning places.
The site consists of three landscape lines that intersect the building. Both interior and exterior, they establish a dialogue between the axes of circulation across the school and the landscape. Between these lines are areas for a variety of activities and an assortment of vegetation creating a rich landscape. At the intersection of the landscape lines and the building, meeting points are sculpted and identifiable by their colour accent.
The program layout is designed to create a holistic core based on the learning community model creating versatile and flexible spaces, becoming a true focal point in the center of the school in connection with the courtyard. The bleachers, the holistic space and the dining room together create a living environment that contributes to a stronger sense of belonging and identity that can be used by the school, the childcare center and the community.
The architecture and materiality of the project are inspired by natural elements; by the symbolic form of the trees and the forest, which envelop the new extension. This addition makes it possible to link all the school's activities through continuous circulation. Openings between the floors to the new linear library and to the staircase of the holistic space open onto the inner courtyard, making it the extension and heart of the school.
Start the slideshow

Lab-École - Gatineau

Client : Commission scolaire Western Québec (CSWQ) Budget : 12 M$ Superficie : 7 500 mètres carrés Localisation : Gatineau

Agrandissement de l’École Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau

Prix et mentions

2020 - Projet Lauréat du Concours Lab-École

Le concept de la nouvelle école Pierre-Elliott Trudeau est basé sur la création d’une boucle pédagogique connectée à la nature avec en son cœur, l’espace holistique et communautaire.

Articulé autour d’une cour intérieure, le geste architectural posé permet de relier les espaces consacrés aux classes, à l’activité physique ainsi que les lieux collectifs dans un parcours ouvert et créer des lieux de rassemblement et d’apprentissage polyvalents.
Le site se compose de trois lignes de paysage qui croisent le bâtiment. À la fois intérieures et extérieures, elles établissent un dialogue entre les axes de déplacement traversant l’école et le paysage pour former un ensemble cohérent. Entre ces lignes sont aménagés des espaces d’activités et de végétation variables créant un paysage riche. À l’intersection des lignes de paysage et du bâtiment, des points de rencontre sont sculptés et se distinguent par un accent de couleur qui les identifie clairement.
L’aménagement du programme est conçu pour créer un cœur holistique basé sur le modèle de communauté d’apprentissage créant des espaces polyvalents et flexibles, devenant un véritable point de convergence au centre de l’école en lien avec la cour intérieure. Les gradins, l’espace holistique et la salle des repas ainsi regroupés créent un milieu de vie contribuant à renforcer le sentiment d’appartenance et d’identité pouvant servir à l’école, au service de garde et à la communauté. Le réseau de circulation crée une double boucle qui s’interconnecte aux points de circulations verticales.
La matérialité et le parti architectural du projet s’inspirent d’éléments de structure naturelle; par la forme symbolique des arbres, de la forêt, qui vient habiller l’agrandissement du bâtiment. Cet ajout permet de mettre en lien toutes les activités de l’école par une circulation continue. Des ouvertures entre les étages à la nouvelle bibliothèque linéaire et au gradin de l’espace holistique s’ouvrent sur la cour intérieure et font de celle-ci l’extension et le cœur de l’école.
Lancer le diaporama